Startsida
Hjälp
Sök i LIBRIS databas

     

 

Sökning: onr:r44061sspq5cx3v1 > Carry :

  • Jensen, Toni (författare)

Carry : a memoir of survival on stolen land /Toni Jensen.

  • First edition.
  • BokEngelska2020

Förlag, utgivningsår, omfång ...

  • Publicerad:New York :Publicerad:Ballantine Books,Publicerad:[2020]
  • 294 pages22 cm
  • texttxtrdacontent
  • unmediatednrdamedia
  • volumencrdacarrier

Nummerbeteckningar

  • LIBRIS-ID:r44061sspq5cx3v1
  • ISBN:9781984821188
  • ISBN:1984821180
  • Ogiltigt nummer / annan version:9781984821195

Kompletterande språkuppgifter

  • Språk:engelska

Klassifikation

Varianttitlar

  • Memoir of survival on stolen land

Anmärkningar

  • Women in the Fracklands -- Songs Without Words -- The Invented Histories of Domestic Birds -- Give and Go -- Carry -- Route -- Dog Days -- In the Neighborhood -- The Worry Line -- Fracture and Song -- How to Make a Trafficked Girl -- City Beautiful -- Chicken -- Pass -- Contagion -- Ghost Logic.
  • "A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author's encounters with gun violence--for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up in the Midwest around guns: As a girl, she learned how to shoot birds with her father, a card-carrying member of the NRA. As an adult, she's had guns waved in her face in the fracklands around Standing Rock, and felt their silent threat on the concealed-carry campus where she teaches. And she has always known she is not alone. As a Métis woman, she is no stranger to the violence enacted on the bodies of indigenous women, on indigenous land, and the ways it is hidden, ignored, forgotten. In Carry, Jensen maps her personal experience onto the historical, exploring how history is lived in the body and redefining the language we use to speak about violence in America. In the title chapter, Jensen recalls the discrimination she faced in college as a Native American student from her roommate to her faculty adviser. "The Worry Line" explores the gun and gang violence in her neighborhood the year her daughter was born. "At the Workshop" focuses on her graduate school years, during which a classmate repeatedly wrote stories in which he killed thinly veiled versions of her. In "Women in the Fracklands," Jensen takes the reader inside Standing Rock during the Dakota Access pipeline protests, as well as the peril faced by women, in regions overcome by the fracking boom. In prose at once forensic and deeply emotional, Toni Jensen shows herself to be a brave new voice and a fearless witness to her own difficult history--as well as to the violent cultural landscape in which she finds her coordinates as a Native American woman. With each chapter, Carry reminds us that surviving in one's country is not the same as surviving one's country."--Provided by publisher.

Ämnesord och genrebeteckningar

Sammanhörande titlar

  • Annan version:Online version:Jensen, Toni.Carry.New York : Ballantine Group, [2020]9781984821195

SAB-rubrik

  • LzBiografi: särskilda personer

Länkade data-URI:er (test)

  • https://id.kb.se/term/sao/M%C3%A9tiser (Métiser sao)
  • https://id.kb.se/term/sao/Nordamerikanska%20urfolk (Nordamerikanska urfolk sao)
  • https://id.kb.se/term/sao/Kvinnor%20fr%C3%A5n%20amerikanska%20urfolk (Kvinnor från amerikanska urfolk sao)
  • https://id.kb.se/term/saogf/Biografier (Biografier saogf)
Inställningar Hjälp

Titeln finns på 1 bibliotek. 

Bibliotek i västra Sverige (1)

Ange som favorit

Sök utanför LIBRIS

Hjälp
Om LIBRIS
Sekretess
Blogg
Hjälp
Fel i posten?
Kontakt
Teknik och format
Sök utifrån
Sökrutor
Plug-ins
Bookmarklet
Anpassa
Textstorlek
Kontrast
Vyer
LIBRIS söktjänster
SwePub
Sondera
Uppsök

Kungliga biblioteket hanterar dina personuppgifter i enlighet med EU:s dataskyddsförordning (2018), GDPR. Läs mer om hur det funkar här.
Så här hanterar KB dina uppgifter vid användning av denna tjänst.

Copyright © LIBRIS - Nationella bibliotekssystem

 
pil uppåt Stäng

Kopiera och spara länken för att återkomma till aktuell vy